Registering as a guest

Created on:
Updated on:

In the past, everyone started a registration in a "semi-logged in" state: They entered their email and then could see their own name but couldn't see their household or personal information. 

Understandably, congregants found this confusing. They felt like they were logged in — because we knew who they were — but they weren't fully logged in — which is why we couldn't display private information, such as household members. It was also hard to understand why the registration experience was different sometimes than other times.

Today, we released an updated log-in flow to help this feel predictable and clear.

We believe that the logged-in experience is best for the majority of eventsespecially events where parents are registering their children. With that in mind, when you start a new registration on Church Center, you'll be prompted to log in.

When you enter your mobile number or email address, we'll send you a six-digit code to log in. Once you're logged in, you'll be able to see your household and personal information.

If you elect to Continue as guest, we'll still ask for your email address — but we won't send you a log-in code. Because you aren't logged in, you'll only be able to register yourself. A message is shown at the top of the screen prompting you to log in to register other people.

You can also enable or disable the "continue as guest" option on a per-event basis from your event settings:

If guest registrations are disabled, all congregants will have to log in to register for your event.

We recommending enabling guest registrations only if it's crucial to your event — such as an outreach event, where most of your attendees do not already have People profiles in your organization.

For family and youth events, we highly encourage you to disable guest registrations, to ensure that parents can see their household members and update their personal information.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful